You’re all nutters!

Ugh. Why can’t everyone in my family like peanut butter (sandwiches) as much as I do?

Soph will be going into grade 1 next year (holy crap), but looks like I won’t be able to make an old-fashioned slap-some-spread-on-some-bread-(maybe sometimes jam)-and call-it-a-lunch lunch. Her school has banned suggested that we don’t send lunches to school with peanut butter alternatives because they look too much like the real thing. Not even if we included a note? Please?

Cheese is, of course, the other excellent quick sandwich option, but if you’re not careful the cheese gets all sweaty and then loses its appeal. Not for me though, I think I ate a cheese sandwich EVERY DAY throughout high school (maybe that’s why I’m a bit lactose intolerant now, but pfffft). Some kids don’t like sandwiches but Soph seems to like them just fine. Phew.

I just noticed that Wikipedia described peanut butter as a “food paste”. That’s disgusting and frankly, I’m offended. It’s so much more than that. Really. Right?

I must try a peanut butter and bacon sandwich, but I don’t usually keep bacon in the house, but I do like peanut butter & lettuce. You get the softness of the bread and smooth PB texture, with a nice mild crunch from the lettuce. It’s refreshing!

Actually, right now I eat peanut butter for lunch practically every day. Sometimes it’s a sandwich (without butter), sometimes it’s toast (avec). Think I must be addicted to it but hopefully it won’t turn into an allergy. Even when I go to my favourite Thai restaurant I always get the same thing: Peanut Curry because it’s chicken, green beans and sticky rice swimming in peanut butter with a little coconut milk mixed in.

Peanut butter kinda seems like it’s from a bygone era, even though they still advertise pretty heavily. But it makes me think of Wonder Bread and Kool-Aid. And really cheesy commercials like this:

Leave a Reply

