Maurice Sendak

I was sad to hear that author and illustrator, Maurice Sendak passed away today. Though Where the Wild Things was never one of my favourites, and even my daughter hasn’t been crazy about it, I do like enjoy his books and really like his artwork. They’re very retro to me. They remind me of the way Shel Silverstein’s books used to be illustrated, maybe only because they initiated their publishing careers in the same era.

I was given King Grisly-Beard as a gift a looong time ago and I still have it today (it’s on my daughter’s bookshelf). I always found it funny as a child how he always put a mischievous animal in some of the scenes with its own snarky commentary.

Chicken Soup with Rice is also another favourite, which we also have. It’s a book of months that takes you through the seasons in rhyme. Check out the musical version:

Leave a Reply

